no image added yet.


Eat A Peach

August, 05 2017 | Atlanta History Center

From Atlanta Journal Constitution- August 1-Bo Emerson: The ATL Collective, a rotating ensemble known for staging full performances of notable albums, will re-create “Eat a Peach” in its entirety, including the lengthy “Mountain Jam” (which takes up two sides of the double album), in a one-time-only performance at the Atlanta History Center on Saturday, Aug. 5.

The center couldn’t have picked a more appropriate piece of Southern history to celebrate. “A lot of us have grown up with it,” guitarist and co-music director Rick Lollar said of the album. “It is in our bones.”

With 12 people up on stage, including four vocalists and a handful of drummers, the band brings considerable forces to the project. In the first set, the band will also re-enact another chapter of Georgia history, playing songs from the 1970 Atlanta International Pop Festival, where the Allmans shared the stage with Richie Havens and B.B. King, and Jimi Hendrix played a twisted version of “The Star-Spangled Banner” on a blistering July 4.

Attempting to capture the spirit of the music is as important as copying the content, Lollar said. “I want to be faithful and honor that music, but I don’t want to be slavishly trying to play the solos note for note. For that reason, the band will bring a new vibe to some songs, moving “Blue Sky” to a higher register, for example, to accommodate the range of female vocalist Kristina Train.For many musicians from the South, the album provided part of the backdrop of life.
 […read full article]



Side 1:

1. Mountain "Mississippi Queen" - Kristina Train
2. Johnny Jenkins "Walk On Guilded Splinters" - Jamison Ross
3. John Sebastian "Darling Be Home Soon" - Ansley Stewart
4. Col. Bruce Hampton "Yield Not To Temptation/Lovelight" - Rick Lollar & Ansley Stewart
5. B.B. King "To Know You Is To Love You" - Kristina Train
6. Grand Funk Railroad "Sin’s A Good Man’s Brother" - Jamison Ross
7. Bob Seger System "Ramblin Gamblin Man" - Ansley Stewart
8. Procol Harum "Whiter Shade Of Pale" - Kristina Train
9. Richie Havens "Freedom" - Jamison Ross
10. Jimi Hendrix "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" - Rick Lollar

Side 2:

11. Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More - Kristina Train
12. Les Brers In A Minor - ATL Collective House Band
13. Melissa - Kristina Train
14. Mountain Jam - ATL Collective House Band
15. One Way Out - Jamison Ross
16. Trouble No More - Jamison Ross
17. Stand Back - Kristina Train
18. Blue Sky - Ansley Stewart
19. Little Martha - Rick Lollar and Dave Yoke
20. Statesboro Blues - Ansley Stewart
21. Whipping Post - ATL Collective